Product Review- Genius Chicken and Mushroom Pies

22 Apr

You can buy these in a 2 pack, I bought mine in Tesco’s.

http://www.geniusglutenfree.com/gluten-free-products/genius-gluten-free-frozen/genius-gluten-free-chicken-and-mushroom-pie/

I cooked mine with roast potatoes, roast parsnips, roast butternut squash sweetheart cabbage and carrots. The meal was lovely, but this pie was a big disappointment. It was a pastry shell with a grey, gloopy sauce containing the tiniest amount of chicken and mushroom. I would imagine just enough to pass the legal minimum percentage. The pastry is good, it coloured up nicely and was very crisp. However I could not notice any difference between the so-called short-crust base and flaky pastry top. But give me my rose and Crown homemade g/f pie anyday over this excuse! My verdict- save your money and buy a chicken breast instead otherwise you’ll end up hungry.

Leave a Reply

