Product review- Warbutons Newburn Bakehouse Gluten-free 3 White Wraps

18 Mar

http://www.newburnbakehouse.com/our-range/white-wraps/

I was lucky enough to be sent a Newburn Bakehouse goody pack, of all the new products in their range. Here is the first of my reviews. I couldn’t wait to try the wraps. They are square and come in a pack of 3. I have been unable to find these in a store near me yet, but am informed they are retailing between £2.99- £3.10. Some people are complaining that this is 2-3 times the price of normal wraps, but isn’t that the case with all gluten-free food?!

I first opted to make the above dish with them- Mexican Bean Enchiladas. If you’d like to repeat the experience then here is my recipe. It may not be authentic because I made it up! But it sure tasted good. Serves 4 very generously!

Ingredients

4 wraps (You can always divide between 2 dishes, one gluten free and one normal)

1tbsp olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 carrot chopped

1 can chopped tomatoes

1 tin mixed beans in a mild curry sauce (I used Sainsbury’s own)

Juice of 1 lime

4 heaped tsp vegetable stock (I used Marigold Boullion)

1 tsp cumin seeds

2 tsp mild chilli powder

1/4 tsp smoked paprika

Medium pot natural yogurt

handful of grated strong cheddar cheese

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to Gas Mark 5/ 200C
  2. Heat the oil in a large frying pan. Cook the onions and carrots for 5-8 mins until soft. Sprinkle in the chilli powder, cumin seeds, stock powder and smoked paprika and cook for 1 min more. Pour in the tomatoes, lime juice and pulses and bring to the boil. Turn down the heat and simmer for 5-10 mins, stirring occasionally, until thickened. Remove from the heat and season well.
  3. Heat grill to high. Spread a spoonful of the bean chilli over a large ovenproof dish. Lay each tortilla onto a board, fill with a few tbsp of chilli mixture, fold over the ends and roll up to seal. Place them into the ovenproof dish. Spoon the remaining chilli on top.
  4. Mix the yogurt and grated cheese together with some seasoning, and spoon over the enchiladas. Cook in the oven for about 30 minutes, until the top is golden and bubbling. Serve with a green salad.

These wraps taste indistinguishable from normal wraps to me and I’ve eaten gluten-containing products recently enough to know! The texture and quality were outstanding in my humble opinion. I’m so glad that a gluten-free producer has seen the need to create wraps, as I was on the verge of buying a tortilla press and attempting to make my own!

My biggest gripe with these new wraps is nothing to do with the taste or appearance, it’s that according to Newburn Bakehouse’s own website- I cannot buy these anywhere in a 30 mile radius from my house! I don’t understand how they expect them to sell well, if they only pick one supermarket to sell them in and then, only in a cherry-picked selection of stores. Gluten-free food distribution seems to have the world’s strangest business model, to my mind! I would love to buy these again- someone just please tell me where!

I also had a cold wrap, filled with grated cheese, salad and natural yogurt and it was sooooo delicious. I wouldn’t be able to afford these wraps every week, as I might like to. But maybe I can afford them once a month? If I can find them!!!

Alternatively, you can use these wraps as a pizza base (which has far less calories than a normal one! I thought it was delicious, there’s something about these wraps which is really savory in flavour. I heartily recommend this;

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Use my pizza recipe, from a previous blog post and just use the wrap as a base instead!

Leave a Reply

