Product Review- Amisa Gluten Free Deep Pan Pizza Bases

2 Nov

IMG_2919

I like to honestly review gluten-free products on my blog, so that you don’t have to waste your hard-earned money. I have to say that these are one to avoid! I was forced to buy them, as my local health food store had sold out of my favourite Glutamel pizza bases (for which you can also find a review on Glutenfreeness).

I was expecting a lot form these; if you buy a ‘normal’ deep pan pizza you expect to get a base of at least an inch thick. Not with these, they were no different to the Glutamel bases in terms of thickness. The instructions on the box say that you can top these with the ingredients of your choice and then cook for 10-12 minutes. So, I topped with my usual home-made tomato sauce and 2 types of cheese- cheddar and mozzarella. It looked like my usual pizza, except that these bases are really rather small. I didn’t feel like it was going to fill me up for my main meal and it certainly didn’t- I needed to eat more carbohydrates to fill me up.

After the allotted time, I pulled it out of the oven and got ready to enjoy my pizza. We got off to a bad start when I used a fish slice to remove it from the tray and it snapped in half. OK, so that’s the wrong term- it had basically turned to mush and fell apart. I find it pretty weird that after 12 minutes in a hot oven, something could turn that mushy- only the edges were crisp. It had basically absorbed any and all moisture from the toppings and turned into a big pile of mush. It was frankly like eating baby food and was a pretty disgusting texture. But at £3.99 for a box of 2, I couldn’t afford to bin it- though it was really tempting!

So, I have another one of these pizzas to ‘enjoy’. I think I will try omitting the tomato sauce and turning into a cheese garlic flatbread, to see if that avoids the mushiness. Please save your money and don’t buy these! But if you have tried them, do you find they work for you? What topping recipes do you use?

Leave a Reply

