Wellington Squares

17 Dec

IMG_2961

Wellington Squares are what I’ve always known these shortbread, caramel and chocolate squares as because that’s what my Grandma called them. You may also know them as Millionaire’s Shortbread. I would be absolutely fascinated if anyone can enlighten me as to how these names came about. My internet searching has not been fruitful in that respect.

Anyway, whatever you call them- they are absolutely delicious. Probably very sinful, but as you can see from my recipe back catalogue- I never worry about that! The important thing is that you’re eating a balanced diet and one little square of these every day is not going to do you any harm.

Ingredients

Shortbread

  •  100g/ 3 1/2 oz unsalted butter (softened)
  • 50g/ 1 3/4 oz  light brown (muscovado) sugar
  • 125g/ 4 1/2 oz gluten free plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • 40g/ 1 1/2 oz gluten free rolled oats (If you can’t eat oats then substitute ground rice or extra plain flour).

Filling

  • 1 x 397g can condensed milk
  • 25g/ 1oz unsalted butter
  • 25g/ 1oz light brown (muscovado sugar)

Topping

200g chocolate.

TIP- I use milk chocolate because I find it makes the whole thing less rich and I’m not a fan of dark chocolate. You can use either, white chocolate might make it a bit sickly sweet with all that caramel. But you can use 25g 1 oz to drizzle on top to make an interesting decoration. I don’t spend a lot on my cooking chocolate- I use the supermarket basic ranges at around 35p per 100g. They are far cheaper than ‘cooking chocolates’ which are usually around £1 per 100g and I think they give a good result. I probably didn’t temper my chocolate properly which is why this bake doesn’t have a shine on top.

Method

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees C/ 350F/ Gas Mark 4. Line an 8 inch square tin.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar (for the shortbread) until pale and fluffy.
  3. Sieve in the flour and Xanthan, then add the oats. Mix until the dough comes together.
  4. Tip the mixture into the base of your tin and press down with your knuckles. Prick it all over with a fork and place into the oven for 25 minutes. Leave to cool in the tin.
  5. To make your caramel, place all the ingredients into a small saucepan and heat gently until the butter has melted and the sugar dissolved. Then raise the heat slightly, stirring all the time so that the mixture begins to boil gently. Keep it there for 3-4 minutes until the caramel thickens. Pour the caramel filling over the cool shortbread base and level out.
  6. Leave to cool entirely, then melt your chocolate. I do this in the microwave but you can also use a Bain Marie on the stove. Pour this over your caramel mixture and level out.
  7. Don’t put it in the fridge or it’s likely you’ll spoil the chocolate’s appearance. But cool the whole thing, until set and then cut into small pieces.

I’d love to hear how you get on with this recipe! Merry Christmas everyone.

Leave a Reply

