Gluten-free Sponge Pudding

19 Dec

IMG_2967

On the odd occasion that I fancy a bit of sponge pudding to fill me up, I’ve tended to keep one of Sainsbury’s Free From Sticky Toffee puddings in the cupboard. I will explain more in future posts, but I am aiming to cook even more from scratch after learning about the dangerous additives that are in all our food. But particularly gluten-free food, even additives that have been proven by science to cause, yes cause coeliac disease.

Just look at their ingredients list:

Toffee Flavour Sauce (49%) (Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Water, Cornflour, Maize Starch, Rapeseed Oil, Palm Oil, Colour: Titanium Dioxide, Plain Caramel; Gelling Agent: Pectin; Flavouring, Preservative: Potassium Sorbate), Egg, Brown Sugar, Rice Flour, Ground Almond, Palm Oil, Rapeseed Oil, Water, Black Treacle, Tapioca Starch, Golden Syrup, Glucose Syrup, Acid Regulator: Acetic Acid; Emulsifier: Mono- and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids; Preservatives: Potassium Sorbate, Calcium Propionate.

Barely any of those ingredients are in my homemade version. Believe me you do not want to be eating Titanium Dioxide, Potassium Sorbet, Palm Oil, Glucose Syrup, Acetic Acid, Flavouring, Calcium Proponate, Maize starch, Plain Caramel or Mono and Di-glycerides of fatty acids!!! If you can even pronounce that little lot. Though some of them sound innocuous, they most certainly are not!

I’ll admit, I’ve always been disappointed by those puddings too. They have a strange slightly gritty, dense texture and a disappointing opaque sauce. So, here is the fastest homemade version I can currently concoct- done in the microwave in just 3 minutes!!! Once you’ve tasted it, I think you’ll agree that the taste is gorgeous and so light and springy! You’ll never want to go back, on taste grounds alone- let alone to avoid additives.

I am almost certain that you will have these ingredients at home, you will need:

  • 1 egg
  • 2 oz Gluten Free Self Raising Flour
  • 2 oz caster sugar
  • 2 oz unsalted butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • 1-2 tbsp golden syrup

If you want to be even more accurate, then just weigh your egg and use the same quantities of  sugar, butter and flour. When I was making mine, I accidentally put in lemon essence because I wasn’t looking. It also tasted gorgeous so I think you could substitute any flavouring you have to hand. Or, don’t use any if you haven’t got any- I don’t think you’ll notice.

It is the same method as making a sponge cake and will be much quicker if you have a mixer.

  1. Beat together your butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.
  2. Add your egg and vanilla essence and mix until combined.
  3. Tip in your flour and mix again until fully combined.
  4. In a 1 pint pyrex bowl, spoon the golden syrup into the base. Then tip your cake batter on top and level the top, as best you can.
  5. Cover with clingfilm and pierce a hole for the air to escape.
  6. Microwave on full power for approx 3 minutes. (You may have to adjust depending on the power of your oven, mine is 800W).
  7. As you can see, I served mine with custard!

If there’s any left, just cover it and pop in the fridge for up to 3 days. Just reheat and serve.

Please let me know how you get on with this recipe- I’d love to see pictures! I really hope it persuades you to make your own, rather than buy. It’ll take you less time than a supermarket trip 🙂 Plus, Sainsbury’s is £1.25 per pudding, so for an equivalent of this size you’d be spending £5! This literally costs you pence to make.

Leave a Reply

