The best ever Gluten Free Scones!

31 Jan

Well, you’ll have to excuse me blowing my own trumpet! But after literally years of trying (and failing) with my homemade scones, I had resorted to using Helen’s Brilliant Scone mix. I found it salty, but more palatable than anything I could come up- which amounted to hard little rocks! At least the packet mix is not full of chemical nasties, but at £2.50 per pack- it was not something I could afford to have often. I’m absolutely delighted to share this recipe with you which costs pence to make and is so simple.

Ingredients

250g/ 8 oz gluten free self-raising flour

1 level tsp gluten free baking powder

1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum

50g/ 1 3/4 oz butter

50g/ 1 3/4 oz caster sugar

1 large egg

150ml/ 1/4 pint milk

Literally ‘a handful’ of sultanas

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 5 or 180° C
  2. Sift the flour, Xanthan Gum and baking powder into a bowl. Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs, then stir in the sugar
  3. Lightly beat together the egg and the milk together in a measuring jug. Add this to the flour mixture and gently mix to give a smooth consistency. You can do this by hand with a wooden spoon or spatula
  4. Sprinkle in your handful of sultanas and mix so they are evenly spread throughout the mixer
  5. This mixture is impossible to roll out or cut, so use an ice-cream scoop to pop 8 even mounds on a lined baking sheet.
  6. Bake the scones in the centre of the oven for 15-18 minutes or until they are a light golden colour. Remove the baking sheet from the oven and slide the scones on to a wire rack to cool slightly.
  7. Serve scones warm with strawberry jam and clotted cream. Delight in these wonderfully fluffy scones fresh from the oven. I guarantee you will not be able to tell the difference from ‘normal’ scones- except that I think these taste better!

Happy baking everyone and I’d love to see pictures of your scones 🙂

9 Responses to “The best ever Gluten Free Scones!”

  1. bookloverbabbles January 31, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

    Those look delicious *.*

    • glutenfreeness October 30, 2016 at 11:20 pm #

      They really are! Please let me know how you get on, if you try making them. Happy baking 🙂

  2. Benjamin Keith Richardson March 5, 2017 at 9:47 am #

    Hehe, totally agree with your point number 5, I used an ice cream scoop too and it worked very well. Also totally agree with your point number 7.

    I recently reviewed them too http://foreverfreefrom.com/helens-gluten-free-scone-mix/

    However . . . . if you have the opportunity, do try the scones from Beyond Bread in London. They are more *scone* like than these, which are lighter, fluffier and slightly more cake like. If you do try them, would love to hear your opinion 🙂

    • glutenfreeness March 5, 2017 at 10:09 am #

      Thanks for your comments. Are Beyond Bread only available in London? I don’t get there often, so I will have to save that for a special occasion. It is hard to get a scone-like texture isn’t it? I find if I try a more traditional recipe, they tend to end up like little rocks – really dense!

      • Benjamin Keith Richardson March 5, 2017 at 4:13 pm #

        Yes, only available in London at present, with two venues, one in Fitzrovia and another in Islington.

        Maybe some of us Londoners need to buy enough of their scones so that they begin opening new branches in other places? I need only a little encouragement 😛

      • glutenfreeness March 5, 2017 at 4:19 pm #

        Definitely! I will add them to my list of places to visit. Are they the same company that make gluten-free doughnuts? I remember reading about one who were trialling deliveries to different parts of the country, on certain days of the week. It’s a tough market to break into, but much needed. I will travel for a doughnut – they’ve become such a rarity!!!

      • Benjamin Keith Richardson March 5, 2017 at 8:46 pm #

        Oh gosh, in the London area there are many sources of gluten free donuts now!

        In the London area they are available to order from Borough 22, NUUK Bakery and Rubys of London.

        Feel Free brand doughnuts are sold in Tesco and other places and the online Wheat Free Bakery makes doughnuts available for delivery nationwide.

        Yes, we need to sample all these doughnuts, I agree 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The World’s Best Buttermilk Gluten-Free Scones! | glutenfreeness - October 30, 2016

    […] scones. They came out quite large, so they take about 5 minutes longer to cook than my other scones recipe. Try both recipes and let me know what you […]

Leave a Reply

