Product Review: Warburtons Newburn Bakehouse Gluten-Free Crumpets

16 Sep

I love crumpets, who doesn’t? But when you’re gluten-free they become more of a rarity. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Warburtons have entered the market with their Newburn Bakehouse Crumpets. Not only are they gluten-free, but also egg-free. At the time of writing, they are on offer in Sainsbury’s for £1.50 which is why I thought I’d give them a go. (They are also currently on offer at that price in Tesco – normal price per pack £2.00).

Visually, they look good- from the packaging and presentation to the actual product itself. They are wrapped in brightly printed plastic with cardboard to protect them (though I think that’s completely superfluous). They look just like your standard crumpet and they are a really decent size and thickness. In-fact I found 2 of them were slightly too much for me, whereas that would be my normal portion size. As with all crumpets, I prefer to toast them twice otherwise I find they don’t get crisp enough or hot enough in the middle for me. When you bite into them, they have a lovely crunch but that is where the good points end.

They are just doughy and mushy in the middle- no structure at all and they have no flavour whatsoever (even with butter on them!) I found them really hard-going to eat, they need more salt. They don’t have the strange flavour that Genius crumpets do, but they aren’t a patch on M&S’s gluten-free crumpets. A note on those, M&S have dropped the price of theirs from £1.80 to £1 a pack- making them superb value. This goes across their entire range (I think they obviously realised their prices were a bit steep!)

Verdict: it’s a no from me, save yourself 50p and get down to M&S. Their crumpets are still king, even if they are a little smaller.

 

 

Leave a Reply

