Make your own butter (and buttermilk!)

6 Nov

img_3687This is a recipe I’ve been meaning to try for a while now. It’s another from my Grandma’s 1950’s Kenwood recipe book. I’m posting this for a fellow blogger, who finds it hard to get buttermilk in the shops. The bonus of making your own butter is that you get buttermilk as a by-product. I thought this recipe might be relevant to some of you, as last week I posted a recipe for buttermilk scones and perhaps you can’t get hold of it either?

I’d love to see your pictures, both of your finished butter and your buttermilk if you try this. This post really should give me the motivation to try it and I hope to be posting some pictures soon. Especially as the price of butter has skyrocketed in the last couple of weeks here in the UK- apparently we can blame Brexit for that, as other countries are now importing British butter and cream because it’s cheaper! Hopefully (maybe) this recipe can save you some money too. I’ve now idea how much butter it produces and rather unhelpfully the recipe does not give quantities. I promise to update you if I experiment! I expect you can save even more if you find some reduced cream in the shops which would probably meet the ripened (4 day old) criteria. Best of luck 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

